NZ Immigration launches annual Pacific Access

<p>The Samoan Quota and the Pacific Access Category resident visas allow for a number of people from five Pacific countries to be selected for New Zealand residence each year, provided they meet the necessary requirements.</p>

<p>Each year up to 1100 Samoan citizens, 250 Tongan and Fijian citizens and 75 Kiribati and Tuvaluan citizens can be selected by ballot to be considered, but a number of applicants who do win a place often have to forfeit it after failing to secure an acceptable job offer.</p>

<p>The Samoa Government earlier this month proposed to Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern that the country's seasonal workers be eligible for permanent residency because often the quota is not filled.</p>

<p>Samoa would like their RSE workers to be eligible for the quota because they already have established employment, which is a key requirement.</p>

<p>The Pacific Access Category quota ballots will be drawn on 8 June and results will be announced on 15 June and the Samoa Quota will be drawn on the 29 June and announced on 6 July.</p>

<p>Limited numbers of forms will be available at the INZ offices in Nuku'alofa and Apia, due to the move towards online applications.</p>

<p>&nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp;</p>